Franz Keyper: Concerto No. 1 for double bass

Lucas, Flora May (2016). Franz Keyper: Concerto No. 1 for double bass. University of Birmingham. M.Phil.

PDF - Accepted Version

Download (5MB)


Franz Keyper (c. 1756 – 1815), a double bassist in the Danish court orchestra, composed seven concertos for double bass. This thesis presents a critical edition of Keyper’s Concerto No. 1 for double bass, based on the autograph manuscript held by the Royal Library, Copenhagen. An introduction explores the life and work of Keyper, and the use of the double bass as a solo instrument by composers working in Europe in the late-eighteenth century. A full critical commentary discusses the editorial methods used. The concerto itself was left in an incomplete state and as such three possible versions of the concerto have been provided: the earliest version is found in the main body of the edition; versions representing the middle and latest stages of revision can be found in the Appendices. As a result, this study makes a practical contribution to the contextualized concerto repertoire for the double bass and offers further insight into double bass playing in late-eighteenth century Europe.

Type of Work: Thesis (Masters by Research > M.Phil.)
Award Type: Masters by Research > M.Phil.
College/Faculty: Colleges (2008 onwards) > College of Arts & Law
School or Department: School of Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music, Department of Music
Funders: None/not applicable
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
M Music and Books on Music > MT Musical instruction and study


Request a Correction Request a Correction
View Item View Item


Downloads per month over past year