Critical edition of Antonio Vivaldi’s Op. 6 Concertos with introduction and critical commentary

Borin, Alessandro (2012). Critical edition of Antonio Vivaldi’s Op. 6 Concertos with introduction and critical commentary. University of Birmingham. M.Phil.

PDF - Accepted Version

Download (2MB)


Vivaldi’s Op. 6 concertos first appeared in 1719 under the imprint of Jeanne Roger. Though the engraved parts contain an unusually large number of errors and the structure of the publication deviates in a quite clear-cut manner from that of any other instrumental collection shaped according to the traditional Vivaldian canons, in many respects these works are more ‘typical’ of their composer than any previously published.
The Introduction explores the characteristics of the textual transmission of Op. 6 and the stylistic features of each individual concerto in order to gather a broad range of information on the genesis and intrinsic nature of the collection. The Critical Edition of the six concertos includes a statement of Editorial Methods. All discrepancies between the principal source and the edition are documented in the Critical Commentary, which likewise comprehensively reports on variants in the secondary sources.

Type of Work: Thesis (Masters by Research > M.Phil.)
Award Type: Masters by Research > M.Phil.
College/Faculty: Colleges (2008 onwards) > College of Arts & Law
School or Department: School of Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music, Department of Music
Funders: None/not applicable
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
M Music and Books on Music > ML Literature of music


Request a Correction Request a Correction
View Item View Item


Downloads per month over past year